New Kaabong and Hoima MPs swear into office

New Kaabong and Hoima MPs swear into office. National Resistance Movement (NRM) party has added two members in Parliament, with Christine Nakwang and Harriet Businge taking an oath of office.

Rebecca Kadaga, the Speaker of Parliament, presided swearing ceremony during plenary on Wednesday, 2 October 2019.

MP Nakwang’s rival was FDC’s Judith Nalibe Adyaka who left the race due to financial problems hence accusing her party of neglect.

The EC together with FDC denied her request to pull out of the race, providing a way for her defeat.

MP Businge competed with FDC’s Asinansi Nyakato, however, Bobi Wine gave her full support during the campaigning time in Hoima.

Ms. Businge won Ms. Nyakato with a total of 4,512 votes to claim her victory from the Hoima by-election for instance.

The Minister for General Duties in the Office of the Prime Minister, Mary Karooro Okurut. MPs and supporters in the public gallery welcomed the latest entrants who now bring the number of MPs to 461.

“Although you (MP Nakwang) have been here before, I welcome you and wish you well,” said Speaker Kadaga.

Inconclusion, Kadaga welcomed them, handing them the copies of the Constitution, the Rules of Procedure and the Directory of the 10th Parliament.

Bebe Cool takes it all from Bobi Wine in Hoima

High turn-up in Hoima by-elections as confusion on National IDs takes center stage

Written by 

A Professional Journalist who support development entities to achieve their objectives while utilizing my skills and capabilities, learning new dynamics and being part of new innovations that will lead to an all-around improvement in individual’s lives and community development. Email: TEL : (+256)0780334539/0703779882

Related posts

Leave a Comment